The DVD

Yesterday, I sat down to watch the DVD of our original production of “An Evening at Home with the Austens”. After a successful first day back at rehearsals, I thought it was worth a watch to see if there was anything I spotted that I thought could be improved on – it was also another way to reinforce the lines, and remind myself of all the entrances and exits.

Watching yourself on a recording is always a strange thing, and can sometimes feel a bit embarrassing. Johnny Depp famously never watches his films. It is something I have had to train myself to do, as it is very useful. Before now, the main use of watching recordings is when I’m submitting an audition video. Recordings of stage productions can be quite tricky, as theatre acting and film acting are very different, and I’ve previously been in productions which did not transfer mediums well.

So it was a great relief when watching “An Evening at Home with the Austens” that it did work very well on film. The style of the production is quite over the top anyway, due to the type of humour, so it didn’t matter when that came across on film. The set-up, as in previous blog posts, was to give the impression of a Georgian sketch show, with the feeling of Whose Line Is It Anyway? And it worked! It felt like a – admittedly low budget – episode of that, and is something I would be very happy to show other people! The camera was quite far away, and at the top of the raked seating, but for the most part a lot of the jokes carried!  The only real shame is that you can’t see the History of England masks, or some of the signs used. And of course facial expressions – but as the characters were larger than life physically, I think it was still pretty effective. 

It has given me a couple of ideas that would be worth looking at to improve it more for the next leg of the run, on top of the ones I could remember from performing. And that alone I think makes it worth getting a recording of your performances as often as you can – if you can bear to watch your own recording, that is. 

Phoebe 🙂 

You can get a copy of the DVD here: http://www.sponsume.com/project/evening-home-austens

Leave a Reply

