Jane Austen and Sci Fi

For those of you who read my post yesterday, you’ll know that Sci-Fi was voted over Jane Austen as a theme for Box Revels(all weekend party in my village). As I tend to have more than one book on the go at once, I’m currently reading both Pride and Prejudice and War of the Worlds. And that got me thinking – in all the various sequels, modernisations, alternative versions of Jane Austen’s work are there any in a Sci-Fi vein? I know of the modernisations – Clueless, Bride and Prejudice, the horror – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, and the re-writes – Lost in Austen to name a few. But are there any set in the future? Or in space, like The Forbidden Planet is to The Tempest? I’m gathering a list of Austen-esque books to read, and would love to add a sci-fi one if any exists! Please comment if you know of any 🙂

Phoebe x 

2 thoughts on “Jane Austen and Sci Fi

  1. I have been writing a time-travel novel that involves Jane Austen. I was intrigued by the idea of what modern people (from the future) would notice and what they would have trouble with if you transported them back to the world of 1815. And what the moral dimensions of that experience would be.

    Right now it’s being read by an agent (fingers crossed). I’ll give you a heads-up if I find a publisher or decide to self-pub.

    And thank you for following my blog.

    • Will keep my fingers crossed for you! Have you seen Lost in Austen? Its about someone travelling into Pride and Prejudice itself(which I guess is kind of Sci Fi..)Have just discovered your blog – its great 🙂 Good luck with the agent!!

Leave a Reply

